His Excellency Jeff Radebe

Minister in the Presidency, Republic of South Africa

Mr Radebe was appointed Minister in the Presidency following the general election in May 2014. He is one of the most senior Ministers in the Cabinet and is responsible directly to the President for the implementation of the National Development Plan. He is also chair of the Inter-ministerial Task Group on Communications.

Mr Radebe became a student activist and joined the underground structures of the African National Congress (ANC) during the student uprisings of 1976. In 1976 he served his articles to become a lawyer in Durban and in 1977 he left the country for Mozambique on instruction of the ANC.

He worked for the ANC's International Department in Zambia. He created underground ANC and South African Communist Party (SACP) structures inside South Africa from Lesotho, giving political direction to activists. Mr Radebe was as a Radio journalist with Radio Freedom in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania for two years.

Mr Radebe served as a Secretary of the SACP's interim Leadership Core between 1990 and 1991 and subsequently became the chairperson of ANC's Southern Natal Region from 1991 to 1994. He also served on the Natal Regional Dispute Resolution Committee and as the chairperson of the Regional ANC Peace Forum during the same period. In 1995, he became a member of the Ex Political Prisoners Committee.

After the historic democratic elections on 27 April 1994, Mr Radebe served as the Minister of Public Works of the Republic of South Africa until June 1999. He also became a member of the Business Trust from 1998 to 2003 and as a Chairperson of the Nelson Mandela 80th birthday Committee in 1998.

Prior to his appointment as Minister of Justice and Constitutional Development in 2009, Mr Radebe served as Minister of Public Enterprises from 17 June 1999 to 28 April 2004 and as Minister of Transport from 29 April 2004 to 10 May 2009.

He was also a Deputy Chairperson of the ANC in the Northern Cape, and later acting Provincial Chairperson in 2004 and a Board member of the Local Organising Committee of the 2010 FIFA Soccer World Cup.


More in this category: « Sir John Peace